Tarquinia – a brief guide

A hilltop town with Etruscan tombs near Rome

Tarquinia is an enchanting walled town with an Etruscan necropolis and impressive museum. For cruise passengers visiting Civitavecchia, it’s a delightful alternative to a day in Rome.

Transport is easy

From Civitavecchia: catch a local bus from the stop across the road from the San Francesco d’Assisi Cathedral in the town centre. Purchase bus tickets from the nearby kiosk before you board. The bus ride takes 30 minutes through pleasant countryside and passengers are dropped just outside the town wall at the entrance to the old town.

From Rome: catch a train to Tarquinia and then a local bus to the top of the hill.

Tarquinia National Museum

P1050570.JPGAs you first enter the town, the museum is to your left, in a palazzo built in the 1400’s. You can buy a combined museum/necropolis ticket, visit the necropolis and return later to explore the museum. It is filled with treasures of the Etruscan age, including pottery and dozens of stone sarcophagi. The top level has a wonderful vista of the surrounding countryside.

Town Walls

P1000626.JPGThe town is surrounded by mediaeval stone walls. It is delightful to wander the quiet streets  and see many significant buildings.

Necropolis di Monterozzi 

P1000621.jpgThe Etruscan necopolis is a fifteen minute walk outside the old town. Walk up the main street and follow the signs. You turn right and, outside the wall, walk straight ahead for one kilometre. The necropolis, or cemetery, is an open area with dozens of tombs to visit. Each one has a flight of stairs down to a burial chamber with elaborately painted walls.

The Lazio Region

Tarquinia is in the Lazio region of Italy, the area around Rome. In my novel The Magus Covenant, it’s the region where Jotham Fletcher is taken to a mysterious monastery and later flees through the night.

Text and Image copyright © 2016 Toni Pike  – All Rights Reserved


Toni Pike is the author of The Jotham Fletcher Mystery Thriller Series – conspiracy thrillers about a secret sect, a deadly Brotherhood and a man on a mission to stop them both.

Book 1 is The Magus CovenantThe secret that will change the world

Book 2 is The Rock of Magus   – Code Red in the Vatican

Book 3 is The Magus EpiphanyAncient treasures and a new revelation

Pike set out to write a thriller of epic proportions and she knocked it out of the park!

Read more about these action-packed thrillers here: About The Jotham Fletcher Mystery Thriller Series

Available at these online stores:

Amazon:   USAUKAustralia CanadaFranceGermanyItalyNetherlandsSpain – and other Amazon outlets

Follow Toni Pike online at:

Website: www.tonipike.com

Facebook: Toni Pike – Author


Twitter: @piketoni1

Linkedin Toni Pike – Linkedin

Email: Contact form





4 thoughts on “Tarquinia – a brief guide

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: